Orchestral Tools’ Berlin Con Sordino Strings is a ”richly textured collection of gentle string sounds”

The new flagship library gives you eight first violins, six second violins, six violas, six celli and three basses.

Orchestral Tools Berlin Con Sardino Strings

Image: via Orchestral Tools

When you purchase through affiliate links on MusicTech.com, you may contribute to our site through commissions. Learn more.

Berlin-based software developer Orchestral Tools has launched a new Berlin Series collection, Berlin Con Sordino Strings, which features an entirely muted string ensemble.

Orchestral Tools, which records at the Berlin Teldex Studio to provide high-class virtual instruments used for music production, has coined The Berlin Series as its flagship series, offering a “range of playing styles and selection sizes, as well as detailed solo instruments and unique playable effects”.

Following on from previous Berlin Series collections: Berlin Strings, and Berlin Symphonic Strings, the newest release, Berlin Con Sordino Strings is made especially with the contemporary composer in mind, allowing for more layered timbre than ever before.

The Berlin Con Sordino Strings includes eight first violins, six second violins, six violas, six celli and three basses.

The collection offers extensive articulation, such as short notes, sustains, vibratos, rips and harmonics, as well as additional ‘hotel’ mutes which can add unique tonal flavours. In addition, the collection includes six mic positions, and the user can choose between three different legato styles: fingered, expressive and playable runs, giving the user even more flexibility and control.

Orchestral Tools says that the collection “expertly captures the sound of large ensembles playing with mutes,” and Berlin Con Sordino Strings is “a richly textured collection of gentle string sounds with a wide range of articulations ideal for softer timbres, delicate compositions, or for simply adding a rounder texture to layered orchestration.”

You can check out more about Berlin Con Sordino Strings below:

The collection is available to buy now with bundle deals on the entire Berlin Series. While the full price is €499,00, this currently on offer at 30% and retails for €349,00. As with all of Orchestra Tools’ software, it runs on the free SINE player, but the very latest version of it is required. It is compatible with all DAWs supporting AU and VST.

Learn more at orchestraltools.com.


Get the latest news, reviews and tutorials to your inbox.

Join Our Mailing List & Get Exclusive DealsSign Up Now

The world’s leading media brand at the intersection of music and technology.

© 2024 MusicTech is part of NME Networks.