Roland adds three cosmic patch collections to Roland Cloud

SH-2, Promars and System-8 get a host of new presets from “top sound designers”.

When you purchase through affiliate links on, you may contribute to our site through commissions. Learn more
Roland Cloud Patch Collection

Building on its cloud-based instrument suite, Roland has announced the release of three new patch collections for the SH-2, Promars and System-8 synths. The brand claims that the Roland Cloud patches have been crafted by “top sound designers” and focus on themes of outer space. For a limited time, you’ll be able to access these synths and patch collections for free.

SH-2: Space Aged comprises 64 presets for Roland’s virtual reprise of the SH-2 monosynth, originally used by the likes of Duran Duran and The Eurythmics. This patch collection is inspired by the SH-2’s arpeggiator, creating interstellar sounds that are rich and complex. “Explore the black hole-like low end of ‘Synth Shock Bass’, or fall into an arpeggiated asteroid belt with ‘Gamer Glytter’”, Roland says.

The Promars synth was the sibling of the iconic Roland Jupiter-4 and was released in the late 70s and early 80s. The Roland Cloud version gets some more space-age sounds with Curiosity, paying tribute to its atmospheric capabilities. Explore light, bubbly, textural patches like ‘1981’ and ‘Karhornia’, or get funky with ‘Italobass’ for Giorgio Moroder moments.

The Roland System-8 is one of the brand’s more recent synth, which you can also access from the Roland Cloud. System-8: Frontiers uses the synths powerful engines to generate “ mysterious arps, heartbreaking keys, and cavernous pads”, Roland says. Patches include the majestic ‘HOME’, Hydra-7”, ‘EBM Bass’ and ‘The Darker Pad’.

You can access each of these synths and patch collections for free between certain dates:

  • Roland Cloud SH-2 and SH-2: Space Aged is freely accessible from 9 June to 23 June
  • Roland Cloud Promars and Promars: Curiosity is freely accessible from 16 June to 30 June
  • Roland Cloud System-8 and System-8: Frontiers is freely accessible from 25 June to 9 July.

Find out more at

For more music tech news click here.


Get the latest news, reviews and tutorials to your inbox.

Join Our Mailing List & Get Exclusive DealsSign Up Now

The world’s leading media brand at the intersection of music and technology.

© 2024 MusicTech is part of NME Networks.