Arturia’s V Collection 8 adds OB-Xa, Juno-6 and Emulator II models

The update also adds in-app tutorials to help you navigate its 28 instruments.

When you purchase through affiliate links on, you may contribute to our site through commissions. Learn more
Arturia V Collection 8

Image: Arturia

Arturia announces an update to their highly-regarded keyboard virtual instrument suite, V Collection 8. The new version adds four brand new instruments, updates two more, and expands sound banks, control and in-app tuition.

In version 8, Arturia has modelled four more classic keyboards: the Roland Juno-6, E-mu Emulator II, Oberheim OB-Xa and the Bode 7702/Moog Vocoder.

Dubbed Jun-6 V, Arturia’s Juno-6 model recreates the original six-voice Juno, in all its chorusing, arpeggiating glory. It also adds new features such as routings for Mod Wheel, Velocity and Aftertouch for greater control, an additional LFO and envelope generator, plus delay and reverb for production-ready sounds.

Emulator II V brings back the Emulator II, a sampling staple of 1980s studios. Preloaded with Emulator II and Synclavier samples, you can also load your own sounds and put them through Arturia’s faithful emulation of the original hardware DAC. Arturia upgrades include detailed sample editing, more expressive modulation options and built-in effects.

Last of the new instruments in V Collection 8 is Vocoder V, a 16-channel design based on the 1979 Moog Vocoder, but with some modern features. Among these are the ability to vocode and trigger samples, add advanced modulation and take advantage of built-in effects.

V Collection 8 also bundles up OB-Xa V, which we reviewed back in July. More than just the Jump and 1999 synth, its newest incarnation brings with it a slew of new features such as a stereo spread control for wider sounds and effects.

Synth Master

If the prospect of learning 28 different instruments, each with their own layouts and operating principles, seems daunting, worry not. V Collection 8 includes four new control macros to every instrument, built-in step-by-step tutorials and a new browser for navigating presets.

You can also address all sound engines via the Analog Lab instrument, which gives you custom playlists, plus mixing and layering options for live performance or studio mastery.

Beyond that, Patchworks brings 700 new, forward-looking presets to V Collection synths, taking advantage of Arturia’s modern upgrades, spanning vintage disco sounds to cinematic ambience.

Pricing and availability

V Collection 8 is available now for the introductory price of €399 (reg. €499). Existing customers will be eligible for further discounts.

More information at

Read more music technology news here.


Get the latest news, reviews and tutorials to your inbox.

Join Our Mailing List & Get Exclusive DealsSign Up Now

The world’s leading media brand at the intersection of music and technology.

© 2024 MusicTech is part of NME Networks.