Disclosure unveil first exclusive track “Observer Effect” from their upcoming DJ-Kicks mix

“Where we’re at now is clubby”, says Guy Lawrence

Disclosure press pic

Credit: Press

When you purchase through affiliate links on MusicTech.com, you may contribute to our site through commissions. Learn more.

Dance duo and siblings Disclosure have released the debut track for their DJ-Kicks mix, titled Observer Effect. It’s one of two original tracks created exclusively for the mix. The other track, Deep Sea, is expected to follow soon.

This is Disclosure’s first foray into the famed DJ-Kicks series, which is an album series released by !K7 Records and has been deemed “the most important DJ-mix series ever” by Mixmag. DJ-Kicks has featured the likes of Erland Øye, Moodymann, Jayda G, DJ Koze and John Talabot throughout its storied 28-history, and is rightly considered an institution of electronic music.

In a statement to NME, Guy Lawrence of Disclosure explained the album’s concept was “club bangers” much like their previous album ENERGY. Lawrence said, “that’s what the majority of the mix is going to be: still exploring all these different textures.”

Guy also noted the duo’s longstanding love of electronic club music’s bass, adding that while they had never composed a track in that vein, it forms the backbone of their songwriting.

“Most of the mix is presenting what you can do with house. And that’s basically our career: trying to move house forward, whether it’s with songwriting or using different genres or different languages. The mix should represent where we’re at now; and where we’re at now is clubby.”

Along with the new tracks, Observer Effect and Deep Sea, the mix features exclusive tracks from Harry Wolfman and Arfa x Joe, and an exclusive edit of Onipa’s Fire, among others.

Disclosure’s mix will be available on 15 October via !K7 Records and can be pre-ordered here. The full tracklist can be found below.

01 Pépe – ‘Recollection’
02 Harry Wolfman – ‘LOTF’ (exclusive)
03 Cleanfield – ‘Conflict With Clayton’
04 Disclosure – ‘Deep Sea’ (exclusive)
05 Simon Hinter – ‘Wanna Make Love’
06 &on&on – ‘Don’t Say a Word’
07 M-High – ‘Harmony In The Distance’
08 Slum Science – ‘Mezmerized’
09 Disclosure – ‘Observer Effect’ (exclusive)
10 East End Dubs – ‘bRave’
11 Onipa – ‘Fire’ (Edit)(exclusive)
12 Arfa x Joe – ‘Recognise’ (exclusive)


Get the latest news, reviews and tutorials to your inbox.

Join Our Mailing List & Get Exclusive DealsSign Up Now

The world’s leading media brand at the intersection of music and technology.

© 2024 MusicTech is part of NME Networks.