Coldcut announces 30-track ambient compilation with Ryuichi Sakamoto, Sigur Rós, Suzanne Ciani and more

The influential duo have gathered some of ambient music’s most prominent names to take part in this whopper of a compilation.

Coldcut’s Matt Black. Credit: MS Bretherton/Alamy

Electronic duo and founders of the renowned Ninja Tune label Coldcut have announced a new 30-track ambient compilation, featuring the likes of Ryuichi Sakamoto, Sigur Rós, Suzanne Ciani, Julianna Barwick, Obay Alsharani, and more.

Titled @0 and released under Ninja Tune’s Ahead Of Our Time sublabel, the compilation will only be available digitally and on vinyl. It will include new tracks and remixes by Imogen Heap, James Heather, Specimens, Nailah Hunter, and Coldcut themselves, who curated and sequenced all tracks on the compilation. A continuous mix version mixed by both Coldcut and DJ Mixmaster Morris will be available on CD for those who prefer that format.

Ahead of @0’s release on 19 November, Coldcut have made two tracks available for free streaming via Bandcamp as part of the double-single EP1. The tracks, Suzanne Ciani’s Morning Spring and Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith’s Mt Baker, can be found on side B of the compilation.

Coldcut’s Matt Black spoke about the compilation on the duo’s Bandcamp page, saying, “@0 refers to that liminal state experienced many times where my mental and emotional stability was not solid and it felt like teetering on a zero axis about to fall into depression, or more rarely, mania.

“I found that ambient music, by making no psychic demands, often opened some space and with its soft fascination, subtly raised the energy, helping to avoid that downward spiral and navigate slowly up and out. @0 is a balance point.”

Ninja Tune have pledged their share of sales of the compilation to go to three charities, namely CALM (Campaign Against Living Miserably), Mind and Black Minds Matter.

@0’s tracklist below:

  1. Ryuichi Sakamoto – Aqua (from Playing Piano for the Isolated)
  2. Double Cushion – For Ignatz Karmelito
  3. Julianna Barwick – Star Ray
  4. ANNA – Another Dream
  5. Obay Alsharani – Dream Within a Dream
  6. Daniel Pemberton & FSOL – Behind the Eyes
  7. NDiPA X Flex Machina feat. Sandeep Mishra – Bandra Tanpura
  8. ill-esha – Sonata of Solitude
  9. Specimens – Concrète Dreams
  10. Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith – Mt Baker
  11. Skee Mask – CG Drip
  12. Helena Hauff – Thalassa
  13. Rovo & System 7 – Unseen Onsen (Translucent Mix)
  14. Coldcut – The Fire Burns Out
  15. Sigur Rós – Rembihnútur (Liminal re-work by Paul Corley)
  16. Imogen Heap – The Happy Song (Coldcut Remix)
  17. Ned Scott (The Egg) – Patchwork
  18. Noodreem – The Healing Light of Sound
  19. Suzanne Ciani – Morning Spring
  20. James Heather – And She Came Home (Strings Version)
  21. Nailah Hunter – Sadko
  22. David Wenngren – Pianoise
  23. A Winged Victory for the Sullen – Beethoven 250
  24. Steve Roach – The Drift Home
  25. Laraaji – Illusion of Time
  26. Yak Herder – Otaku Reverse
  27. Mira Calix – danaïdes
  28. FRKTL – Rhododendron Forest Rescue
  29. Irresistible Force X Coldcut – Autumn Leaves Return
  30. Coldcut X Mixmaster Morris – @0 Mix

Get the latest news, reviews and tutorials to your inbox.

Join Our Mailing List & Get Exclusive DealsSign Up Now

The world’s leading media brand at the intersection of music and technology.

© 2023 MusicTech is part of NME Networks.