Arca announces “most incendiary entry” in KicK album series, KicK iii

The album will be released on the same day as KicK ii, and will complete the KicK trilogy

Credit: Unax LaFuente

Visionary Venezuelan artist Arca has announced she will be releasing another album in 2021 alongside the still-upcoming KicK ii, KicK iii.

Both albums will be released simultaneously this 3 December via XL Recordings, completing her KicK trilogy of albums. KicK iii was announced with the release of the first music video of the album, the mind-bending track Electra Rex, which was shot in 2020 with director Carlota Guerrero.

Arca explained the concept behind KicK iii in a press release, calling it “the most incendiary entry in the kick universe”.

“The album is a portal directly into the more manic, violently euphoric and aggressively psychedelic sound palettes in the series,” she explained.

Electra Rex is an example of this ethos, a subversion of the Oedipus Rex and Electra archetypes of Greek theatre. Arca says the idea behind Electra Rex is “a new archetype I propose in reference to commonly understood ideas of Freud regarding the oedipal complex – Oedipus Rex kills the father and unknowingly making love to the mother. Electra complex posits the binary opposite: killing the mother and unknowingly making love to the father.”

“And so I am the first to propose a non-binary psychosexual narrative to avoid falling into the same generational tragic blind spots. ‘Electra Rex’, a merging of both names, an integration of both Oedipus Rex and Electra: ‘Electra Rex’ it kills both parents and has sex with itself, and chooses to live.”

The full tracklist for KicK iii below:

01. Bruja
02. Incendio
03. Morbo
04. Fiera
05. Skullqueen
06. Electra Rex
07. Ripples
08. Rubberneck
09. Señorita
10. My 2
11. Intimate Flesh
12. Joya

KicK iii can be preordered here.


Get the latest news, reviews and tutorials to your inbox.

Join Our Mailing List & Get Exclusive DealsSign Up Now

The world’s leading media brand at the intersection of music and technology.

© 2023 MusicTech is part of NME Networks.