Sequential’s desktop Prophet-5 and 10 scale down on size and price

Five and ten-voice polysynths sound “every bit as awesome” as their keyboard counterparts, says Dave Smith.

Sequential Prophet-5 and Prophet-10 Desktop

Image: Sequential

Sequential has announced desktop editions of its Rev 4 Prophet-5 and Prophet-10 synths, packed with the same features as their keyboard counterparts which launched last year.

Like the keyboard editions, the new desktop Prophets comprise components from several previous generations of the landmark synth. This lets you call back the sonic characteristics of previous revisions using a ‘Vintage’ knob, from the stable Rev 4 all the way to the more temperamental Rev 1.

According to Sequential founder Dave Smith, the scaled-down editions of the brand’s latest Prophet synths were much requested by fans working in a smaller studio or planning a touring rig.

“It was an easy decision to create a desktop module to fill that need,” he said in a statement. “The great thing is, we managed to fit the same big, ballsy sound of the full Prophet-5 into a desktop model. It sounds every bit as awesome.”

The Rev 4 Prophet-5 offers a five-voice operation and comes equipped with two multi-waveform analogue oscillators, resonant analogue low-pass filters, amplifiers and amplifier envelopes for each voice. As for modulation, there’s a multi-waveshape LFO and Poly Mod onboard. Meanwhile, the Prophet-10 is the 10-voice edition of the synth.

The Curtis VCOs and filters from the Rev 3 are also included, as is the Dave Rossum-designed SSI 2140 filter. Users can choose which filter to engage with the Rev switch, found on the front panel.

The Prophet-5 and Prophet-10 Rev 4 desktop synths will be available in February, priced at $2,499 and $3,299, respectively. Both are priced $1,000 less than their keyboard counterparts.

Learn more at

For more music technology news, click here.


Get the latest news, reviews and tutorials to your inbox.


The world’s leading media brand at the intersection of music and technology.

Join our mailing list

Sign Up Now

© 2023 MusicTech is part of NME Networks.