Cremona Quartet gives you access to four historic string instruments

It samples a Stradivari Cello and others from the Museo Del Violino’s “Do Not Touch” section.

When you purchase through affiliate links on, you may contribute to our site through commissions. Learn more
e-instruments Cremona

Image: e-instruments

Virtual instrument maker e-instruments has expanded on its Stradivari Violin instrument for Kontakt with the introduction of Cremona Quartet, which samples four more historic instruments from the Museo Del Violino.

The pack includes two violins, a viola and a cello, which were sampled from a Stradivari violin, a Guarneri violin, an Amati viola and a Stradivari cello.

For a realistic-sounding performance, Cremona Quartet features performance-captured vibrato and 20 articulations with up to three legato transitions each. There’s also a Smart position function, which automatically selects the closest fingerboard position to previously played notes – similar to a real performer.

You can also choose from, or mix between close, mid and far microphone positions and an additional control lets you tweak “room noise levels”.

Cremona Quartet was devised as a collaboration between the Museo Del Violino – the museum guarding instruments of the Stradivari collection – and e-instruments. The motivation for the museum was to capture and preserve the sounds from their rare instrument collection.

The recordings sessions, which took place in January 2019, were described by e-instruments as “painstaking” and “meticulous”.

Cremona Quartet will be available on 1 October, priced at $399/€399 for the full version or at $199/€199 when upgrading from Stradivari Violin.

Learn more at

For more music technology news, click here.


Get the latest news, reviews and tutorials to your inbox.

Join Our Mailing List & Get Exclusive DealsSign Up Now

The world’s leading media brand at the intersection of music and technology.

© 2024 MusicTech is part of NME Networks.